No Rules Nutrition competes in green smoothie competition

collage

Smoothies – in a variety of colours – are something I know a thing or two about. They are a staple on the cafe menu and we drink them at home on a regular basis. There is no end to how creative you can get with putting together a smoothie, which was why I was so excited to enter the Green Smoothie Competition being run by Kitchen Warehouse. They were looking for someone to give a Vitamix to, so of course I put my hand up – those machines with their powerful V6 engine 2 horse power motors can pulverise anything to a fabulously smooth consistency. Just one catch – if I made it to the final I would have to make my smoothie in front of a crowd and 3 critical judges.

Well, you can see from the photos that I made it to the finals – phew! They liked my recipe! I tried to make sure the crowd was made up as much as possible from members of my own family – thanks support crew! Unfortunately the crowd wasn’t involved in the judging, but they did get to taste all of the smoothies made, lucky them! No, we were being judged by the lovely Heath and Emma from Raw Food Kitchen, who also know a thing or two about smoothies, having grown their business from a two Vitamix, smoothie-making market stall, to a very successful cafe in Fremantle. They were judging our smoothies on taste, healthiness and creativity. I hoped I was in with a chance…

I was a little nervous, but I’d practiced so many times that I was turning green from the taste-testing and so was my boyfriend. Let’s get this done, I was thinking, but still wasn’t prepared to be called up as the very first contestant, with a spot right under the judges noses! I went into autopilot, and had created a gorgeous smoothie in under a minute, taste-tested it and passed a cup each along to the judges before I could think twice. What lovely things they said about my entry – ‘a perfectly blended classic green smoothie’, ‘great use of protein-packed chia and hemp seeds, with the pineapple bringing a gorgeous hint of the tropical’ and so on. I was feeling pretty confident but of course he had wonderful things to say about every contestant’s smoothie…

As they worked through each one, I also had the chance to taste a few of them and the standard was pretty high with a wide range of ingredients being used. At the end, and I have to hand it to him, the guy who won really did display the most creativity and the judges were convinced that the health and taste elements were right up there too. I can’t remember exactly what went into the winning smoothie but there was definitely a free-range duck egg in there, as well as rain water, protein powder, an olive, chili and who knows what else!

When I think about my ideal green smoothie, it has to have balanced flavours, easy-to-find ingredients, and of course pack a great health punch with all nutrition bases covered. So without further pre-amble, here’s my green smoothie recipe! Let me know what you think if you try it.

Minty Muscle Maker Green Smoothie – Serves 2

2 cups loosely packed baby spinach leaves

16 large mint leaves

½ cup fresh pineapple chunks, frozen

1 banana cut into chunks and frozen

1 tablespoon of hulled hemp seeds (from health food shop)

1 teaspoon of chia seeds

1½ cups coconut water

Place the ingredients into a high powered blender in the order listed and blend until deliciously smooth. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

